SPRINGFIELD, Ill. (AP) – Possession of assault-style weapons by anyone under 21 would be illegal under legislation that the Illinois House endorsed.
The plan sponsored by Democratic Rep. Michelle Mussman of Schaumburg would prohibit minors from buying or possessing high-capacity weapons, attachments, .50-caliber rifles and cartridges. They would have 90 days to transfer ownership.
The legislation was OK’d 64-51.
Remember, they are not going to take your guns away. Stop being paranoid.
According to the state of Illinois, a young man, serving in the US Military, old enough to buy cigarettes and die in combat for his country is a minor.
Now, out of curiosity, who does this 19 year old get to transfer his rifle to? The government? A private sale? To his parents?
Critics decried the idea that the government would confiscate property. Mussman said authorities will not visit homes to pick up weapons.
It’s not confiscatory, we’re not going door to door to take your guns.
But a first offense for getting caught with prohibited firearms would be a misdemeanor offense.
You just can’t get caught with having it, that’s soooooo much better.
So what does the law say?
(1) A person who knowingly delivers, sells, or possesses or causes to be delivered or sold, in violation of this Section an assault weapon commits a Class 3 felony for a first violation and a Class 2 felony for a second or subsequent violation or for the possession or delivery of 2 or more of these weapons at the same time.
(2) A person who knowingly delivers, sells, or possesses or causes to be delivered or sold, in violation of this Section an assault weapon attachment commits a Class 4 felony for a first violation and a Class 3 felony for a second or subsequent violation.
(3) A person who knowingly delivers, sells, or possesses or causes to be delivered or sold, in violation of this Section a .50 caliber rifle commits a Class 3 felony for a first violation and a Class 2 felony for a second or subsequent violation or for the possession or delivery of 2 or more of these weapons at the same time.
(4) A person who knowingly delivers, sells, or possesses or causes to be delivered or sold, in violation of this Section a .50 caliber cartridge commits a Class A misdemeanor.’
You read that right. In the text of the bill, a 20 year old caught with an AR-15 that he bought legally before this goes into effect is a felon. A felon.
The media or the State Rep they interviewed lied.
Sec. 24-1.10. Delivery or sale of large capacity ammunition feeding devices to persons under 21 years of age prohibited.
(a) In this Section: “Large capacity ammunition feeding device” means: (1) a magazine, belt, drum, feed strip, or similar device that has a capacity of, or that can be readily restored or converted to accept, more than 10 rounds of ammunition; or (2) any combination of parts from which a device described in paragraph (1) of this subsection (a) can be assembled.
Better toss those replacement followers, enough springs and sheet metal and you are a felon.
“Large capacity ammunition feeding device” does not include an attached tubular device designed to accept, and capable of operating only with, .22 caliber rimfire ammunition or a tubular magazine that is contained in a lever-action firearm or any device that has been made permanently inoperable.
Congrats, your Marlin Model 60 and its 14 round tube mag just made you a felon.
(d) Sentence. A person who knowingly delivers, sells, possesses, or causes to be delivered or sold, in violation of this Section a large capacity ammunition feeding device capable of holding more than 15 rounds of ammunition commits a Class 3 felony for a first violation and a Class 2 felony for a second
21 or subsequent violation or for delivery or possession of 2 or more of these devices at the same time. Any other violation of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor.
Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon becoming law.
More than 15 rounds and it’s illegaler. Considering that most of the guns I’ve bought come with two mags, that’s an instant class 2 felony.
Also, there is no grace period for magazines. The bill is signed into law and you are a felon. You should just crush and throw away your magazines now, because god help you if you find out about the passing of the bill the next day on the morning news, you’ve been a felon for the last 18 hours.
I’m not a lawyer, but I cannot see how this is legal.
Right now it hasn’t passed yet, but if it does, I have a feeling this is going to make its way to SCOTUS.
There is no way a state can render thousands or even tens of thousands of people into felons overnight by banning something that they owned legally the day before.
This court case will be fun to watch.
And pray for the citizens of Illinois. I am glad I am no longer one of them.