From the Herald & Review:
Police say a Decatur woman shot the 33-year-old father of her child to defend herself after he attacked her while she was in a vehicle Sunday evening.
Sgt. Chris Copeland said officers were sent at 6:50 p.m. to HSHS St. Mary’s Hospital in response to the man having been shot in his right side.
He told police the woman had shot him in front of his home in the 3800 block of East Grand Avenue, Copeland said. Police began their investigation and contacted the 29-year-old woman, who voluntarily came to the Decatur Police Department for questioning.
Copeland said the woman had several injuries to her face from the man battering her while she was inside of her vehicle. She had a shunt in her head from a previous injury, and a blow to the head could be fatal, Copeland said.
She defended her life from her piece-of-shit baby daddy. She had obvious injuries from the attack and a history of life-threatening injuries from previous attacks.
Seems pretty cut-and-dry. So how can Illinois fuck this up?
The woman told police she shot the man in self-defense, Copeland said. He said the woman is not facing charges for the shooting, but is facing a preliminary charge of aggravated unlawful use of a weapon for lack of a concealed carry license. She is being held in lieu of $75,000.
She didn’t have the proper paperwork to defend her life outside of her home.
Can Illinois fuck this up any more?
The man was arrested and is facing preliminary charges of domestic battery and unlawful vehicular invasion. He posted $10,000 bond.
Nearly beat a woman to death? That’s $10,000.
Defend yourself from being murdered without paying your Dane-Gelt to the bureaucracy? That’s $75,000.
Welcome to Illinois where the law would rather you get beaten to death than defend yourself from a habitual abuser without the necessary paperwork and fees.
Keep in mind that it takes 90 days to get an Illinois CCW from the time the permit is sent in. Training takes 16 hours, but the wait times for training can be weeks or months long. It seems that this woman knew she needed her gun NOW and didn’t have time to wait for the bureaucracy to approve her permit request.
This is why I love Alabama, South Dakota, and Indiana. The background check is run while you wait at the police station, and they give you your permit right there as soon as it is approved. It takes about 15 minutes.
If a battered woman is threatened in Huntsville at 8:00 am, she can have her permit by 8:30.
I know we in the gun rights community like to say “when seconds count, the police are minutes away.”
Well, I think the new tagline should be “when seconds count, your permit to carry is 90 days away from being mailed to you.”